The Labour MPs voting against Article 50 – and the ones to watch

Article from the 

The Labour leadership wants to support the Article 50 bill. But some MPs have other ideas.

On Tuesday, the Supreme Court ruled MPs must have a say before triggering Article 50, which begins the Brexit negotiations. Two days later, Tulip Siddiq, the MP for a marginal constituency which heavily backed Remain, resigned from her post as a shadow minister. The Labour leadership had insisted that MPs vote for the bill. In her resignation letter,Siddiq said she felt she had “no choice” but to oppose it from the back benches.

Two Labour whips and a shadow minister have also said they will put the Brexit debate before their position, and vote against the bill.

Labour MPs already on the back benches will not have such a difficult dilemma. But nevertheless, they will be swayed by the views of their constituents, as well as their own personal convictions, and the debate in Parliament.

Those MPs who do vote against Article 50 are expected to join Green MP Caroline Lucas, the Scottish National Party, the Liberal Democrats and Northern Ireland’s Social Democratic and Labour party among others.

Here are the Labour MPs likely to vote against Article 50.


Tulip Siddiq, MP for Hampstead and Kilburn
Daniel Zeichner, MP for Cambridge
Jeff Smith, MP for Withington
Thangam Debbonaire, MP for Bristol West
Mike Gapes, MP for Ilford South
David Lammy, MP for Tottenham
Catherine West, MP for Hornsey & Wood Green
Owen Smith, MP for Pontypridd
Neil Coyle, MP for Bermondsey and Old Southwark
Ben Bradshaw, MP for Exeter
Louise Ellman, MP for Liverpool Riverside
Jo Stevens, MP for Cardiff Central 

Ann Coffey, MP for Stockport

On the fence

Geraint Davies, MP for Swansea West

Davies has put forward a private member’s billcalling for another referendum before Parliament triggers Article 50. However, at time of writing, he had not decided whether to actually vote against the bill.

Chris Leslie, MP for Nottingham East

Back before Christmas, Leslie voted against the motion to trigger Article 50 in March and he is now spearheading Labour’s efforts to include amendments in the bill. He has not yet ruled out voting against Article 50.

Angela Smith, MP for Penistone and Stocksbridge

Smith voted against the Article 50 motion in December, and added her name to a letter opposing a hard Brexit, but she is yet to make an announcement about how she will vote in March.

Graham Allen, MP for Nottingham North

Allen voted against in December, and has said his job is to get the best deal for his constituents and his country. However, he is focusing on getting the amendments passed for now.

Rushanara Ali, MP for Bethnal Green and Bow

Ali voted against the motion in December, and said after the Supreme Court ruling she was concerned about jobs lost in Canary Wharf, on the edge of her constituency, as a result of Brexit. She has yet to announce she is voting against the bill, however.

Ian Murray, MP for Edinburgh South

Labour’s only Scottish MP represents a constituency that voted heavily for Remain, and is expected to vote against Article 50, but has not yet confirmed his decision.

Stella Creasy, MP for Walthamstow

Creasy is consulting her constituents before she decides (judging from her Facebook they want her to vote against the bill).

Paul Farrelly, MP for Newcastle-under-Lyme

Farrelly is unusual in that he voted against the December motion, but represents a constituency which voted Leave. He is weighing up the impact of the amendments before making a final decision.

Back in the fold

Clive Lewis, MP for Norwich South

Lewis initially seemed to be leading the charge against Article 50, and even told his local paper he couldn’t back it, but then did a reverse ferretand announced he would vote for the bill.

Cat Smith, MP for Lancaster and Fleetwood

Rebels hoped Smith might join the insurgency, when she appeared to argue against the three-line whip imposed by the leadership. But she has publicly confirmed she will back the bill.

Barry Sheerman, MP for Huddersfield

Sheerman voted against the December motion, but does not wish to frustrate the process of the bill. Instead, he is concentrating on promoting Labour’s amendments.